El Vol Dispers – Songs of Spanish Exile


SMU606 - feat. Cobla St Jordi, Eliseo Parra, Elysian Quartet

After the success of her previous critically acclaimed albums, film score credits and world tours, Clara Sanabras returns to her roots with an intimate homage to exile – told in Spanish, Catalan and English, with her award-winning band, featuring Spanish folk legend Eliseo Parra, Catalunya’s leading traditional wind ensemble Cobla Sant Jordi, acclaimed Elysian Quartet and maverick musician Harvey Brough (Harvey & The Wallbangers) who produced the album with Peter Schwier (Dexys). As one may expect, “Songs Of Spanish Exile” is a visionary, musically expansive voyage.
In Sanabras’ words: “Songs of Spanish Exile was conceived symbolically and non politically as a homage to the stories that my ancestors passed on to me, about their experiences of exile”.
The collection comprises brand new songs, full of literary references: from Lorca to Hemingway; settings of seminal poems from Salvador Espriu to John Donne; as well as traditional Catalan, Spanish and Sephardic tunes and one Scottish folksong.

Track Listing

  1. Scattered Flight
  2. For whom the bell tolls
  3. Si Verías al Ratón
  4. For whom the bell tolls
  5. Adéu Serra de Montsant
  6. Assaig de Càntic en el Temple
  7. Sólo serán tres meses
  8. El Recer del Vol Dispers
  9. La Vuelta del Marido
  10. El Cant dels Ocells
  11. Rumba sin Rumbo
  12. Havanera del Comiat
  13. Jamie Foyers 1812